Travel Diary | SOMEWHERE NOWHERE by Jacqueline Harriet

Zeum_011_JacquelineHarriet_76630004
“Last August I made my first trip to Asia, visiting Tokyo for a few days where a close friend had spent the summer. Days after arriving back in the US, that same friend had gone off to Hong Kong and texted me a slew of photographs of pastel coloured high rises in Hong Kong. ‘You must visit Hong Kong next time you’re in Asia, you would love all these colours!’, they said. I was intrigued but quickly put the idea of traveling back to Asia on the back burner.”
Zeum_003_jacquelineharriet_000049840035smallZeum_014_jacquelineharriet_00020019small
Six months later, by chance I found myself back on a plane, to Hong Kong to visit my boyfriend who is studying abroad in the former British Colony on the southern coast of China. From a purely aesthetic point of view I love Hong Kong.The fruit and meat markets where assorted produce and flesh are laid out neatly creating an unintentional visual feast of colour. How each metro station is covered in different coloured tiles. The sloping landscape that makes you experience varying elevations of the city on any given stroll. And the pastel buildings, of course.Zeum_006_jacquelineharriet_76680006smallZeum_017_jacquelineharriet_00010016

From a purely aesthetic point of view I love Hong Kong.The fruit and meat markets where assorted produce and flesh are laid out neatly creating an unintentional visual feast of color. How each metro station is covered in different coloured tiles.

Zeum_009_jacquelineharriet_76630032smallNearing the end of my trip I was able to pair my appreciation for the city’s pastel palette with my passion for portraiture by working with local brand Somewhere Nowhere designed by Elly Cheng and Rex Lo. Their handmade pieces, often pastel and full of fun, fuzzy textures so directly mirror the elements of creamy, eclectic Hong Kong. We spent a wonderful day with our model Myra wandering around a neighborhood new to even Elly and ended in Central Hong Kong right as it began to sprinkle.Zeum_001_jacquelineharriet_76670029small Zeum_015_jacquelineharriet_00020015
As told to Zeum Magazine by photographer | Jacqueline Harriet
Designer | AW15 by SOMEWHERE NOWHERE
Model | Myra Dengzhuoyii