Interview with Jasmine Deporta

PleatMe_Jasminedeporta_01
Italian based photographer Jasmine Deporta is not like most fashion photographers. She isn’t trying to sell you a lifestyle or portray something that is unrealistic. Instead what we find in Jasmine’s imagery is the exploration of life and all it’s facets. This ability to merge reality with fashion leads to something raw and honest – a trait of Jasmine’s work to be admired. We took the time to chat to this quirky artist who we are definitely big fans of!

I like to combine personal and interpersonal structures with common places and situations in order to create new contexts and different aesthetics.

palindromic_JasmineDeporta_01
When and how did photography first sparkle in your life?
I got my first analogue camera at the age of 9 and started to take pictures – I still have some films and photos from that time and I think that was the moment when this preserving technique started fascinating me.
palindromic_JasmineDeporta_02
Where is your inspiration drawn from?
Colors, dreams, and life.

Are there any photographers or artists that you’re greatly influenced by?
There are a lot of really great photographers out there. I personally really love Viviane Sassen and Lukasz Wierzbowski.
PleatMe_Jasminedeporta_05
What has been your most memorable shoot?
There have been so many memorable shoots, but they’re usually the ones I’ve shot in great scenery. I’ve shot in huge orchid green houses, in wonderful classic hotels, in marble caves and in the middle of white stone fields on the feet of majestic mountains.
palindromic_JasmineDeporta_04
If you’re not photographing what else can we find you up to?
I studied Graphic and Product Design – so basically I’m working in multidisciplinary creative fields, but mainly as a photographer. In the past few years I’ve also been organizing and curating exhibitions and events with gastronomic, art or fashion backgrounds. Maybe all the things I’ve been doing besides taking pictures, can be summed up as Art Direction.
wupwup_Jasminedeporta_03
Do you prefer shooting digital or film? Why?
I prefer shooting film. It is a precious feeling to wait for the film to develop. You also have to concentrate and be aware to take a good picture when shooting film. Digital is interesting to create some certain aesthetics but in general the outcome is mostly too clean. That doesn’t mean I don’t like it – I do love digital photography if it’s done good and if it fits to the project but my vision is more connected with the aesthetic of film.
palindromic_JasmineDeporta_03
What are three things people may not know about you?
1. I’m a neurotic with some things
2. I don’t like coffee and milk at all
3. I’m not into pets

Dreams for the future?
I’m planning to do a photo book containing my latest work. I’m working on with a studio from Berlin for the last six months and it will hopefully be out at the end of this year or at the beginning of next year. PleatMe_Jasminedeporta_04