Meet Zeum 10 Cover Girl Flo Morrissey

flo morrissey 2lo
Art can be found in anything. Anything a person creates or dreams up, puts a little bit of their soul into, is their art. In the case of 20-year-old singer/songwriter Flo Morrissey, music, as her art, is absolutely intrinsic to her being. For such a young soul, her self-awareness that her unique sound has changed and developed over the years in response to her experiences, proves that she exemplifies Zeum 10’s theme. She’s still growing and transforming as a person and an artist, and time will only continue to magnify, augment and deepen her potential.

Hello, my name is Flo. I’m originally from and still live in London – near portobello road. Though I dream of moving somewhere sunny for half the year or having a place in Paris someday. I turned twenty on Christmas day.

flo morrissey 12lo
Hi Flo! Was music introduced to you at an early age? Let’s talk about your sound and creative process. Music is always what I have done, it feels like a necessity to me. I know that I am very lucky I get to do what I love for a living. I used to sing in my school choir and do the solos at christmas concerts so originally thought I wanted to be a classical/opera singer. Hard work and starting out early, particularly growing up finding a community through the internet, helped bring me to my manager and label by the time I turned 18.

My sound and creative process is very human – so it has been changing constantly  over the years, and with age, but at the end of the day it always will stay very personal to me. I think when I was 15 I was still just discovering how to play a C or G chord, so everything still seemed new and magical. Although, as you get older, with everything, you have to remember to find beauty in the ordinary, and now I think that that is really the foundation for my creativity.
flo morrissey 9lo

You recently travelled to L.A. – did being there influence any of the songs on your album? I actually wrote the songs long before my trip to L.A., from the ages of 15 to 18. I was really just going there to record them! But I definitely feel like being in L.A. while recording had a special impression on the songs, I feel it helped bring out a particular warm feeling in them, an underlying sense of ever-present light, which is another theme I try to have in my music. Even if on the surface my songs might seem sad, I promise I’m not all doom and gloom!

You have to remember to find beauty in the ordinary, and now I think that that is really the foundation for my creativity.

flo morrissey 6lo
Back to London. You have a love for vintage and jewellery – what are some of your favourite places for shopping in the city? Living near Portobello is great, I love to go to the market now and again and also to some of the vintage shops on Golborne Road. Though I feel my style has changed over the past few years, and it tends to be difficult to find vintage clothes that I love that aren’t overpriced these days… so I often find myself trolling on etsy and finding individual shop owners on instagram for inspiration and new pieces. I am more for having a few truly special things and making them my ‘uniform’, like treating them as a piece of art rather than if I were mass-buying on the street for things that won’t stay with me forever.

So, how would you describe your personal style? My friends laugh at me when I try to explain it… but I would say it is slightly ‘bohemian’ I guess! I feel I am more into the 60s these days over the 70s, so not so much hippie, but I am going for a more a classy & chic type of look.
flo morrissey 13lo

Tell us about your upcoming projects! Will you be touring this summer?  I just toured with the beautiful french twins of Ibeyi and opened on tour for the wonderful Tobias Jesso Jr. Then I suppose that I’m just going to have to see where things lead. I love not knowing exactly what I’ll be doing next, I’m really just most excited to be creating and hopefully playing a lot more this year.

*

Interview by Danielle Suzanne, Images by Matilda Hill-Jenkins. For the full interview, check out Zeum 10 print