Meet Sasha Frolova

sasha_zeumlo

New york city born and raised actress, model and pokemon enthusiast Sasha Frolova has always craved over-stimulation in her life. From her current studies into the academic and artistic approaches of identity formation, to the extra classes she takes on the topics of feminism, science and literature, on top of her busy schedule as an up-and-coming photographer, we have to wonder where this girl finds a minute to herself. But that’s just the thing, all the above and more are important facets of her being that she can’t sacrifice – even at the cost of sleep we wonder? Below we share an interview with the all-around creative from our current print issue, Zeum 10.

I took my first acting classes about this time last year at Sheila Gray’s studio. I began a bit dramatically… I declared at dinner one night with my family that I wanted to be an actress, to which my mom responded, ‘You’ve never even been in a school play that’s impossible.’ Once I got over my crippling embarrassment of myself in class though, things moved pretty quickly for me and it’s been an informative and inspiring process every step of the way.

We’d love to hear about your role as Olivia in Chris Rubino’s upcoming short film. how does your character differ from who you are as a person? When I first auditioned for ‘Some of Us Have Been Threatening Our Friend Colby’, casting immediately handed me the Olivia scenes and asked me to come back in when I was ready. In the sides, Olivia was described as the weird, ugly, overweight and less wealthy friend. Of course this made me feel incredibly self-conscious until I realized that I was Olivia in high school, I saw myself as being really different than my friends but at the time I wasn’t independent or confident enough to really be happy with myself or my achievements. To me, Olivia was both desperate to be noticed by her friends, but also, simultaneously, wanted to wipe them all out. The experience made me think a lot about how high school is represented in the a lot of current films compared to my own experience.

What fascinates you about New York? I sometimes pretend to myself that I’d be a better, happier person if I escaped N.Y.C. and lived on island time but I don’t think I ever can. The city is exhilarating and full of so much opportunity. You never know what could be behind the façade of a building and you have the complete independence to discover it from a young age.

You’re in front of the lens almost as much as you are behind it! Talk to us a bit about modelling. Has this dynamic challenged you to look at how you enter your own photo shoots (as the photographer) differently? I never thought of myself as ‘modelling’ until quite recently even though I’ve been sitting for my friends since I started photography. Unlike acting it can sometimes make me feel like I’m just an object and cause me to wonder why anyone would be interested. I really love it when there is a concept or a mood and I can help someone complete his or her vision. Amanda Jansson photographed my favourite shoot for the April 2015 Nylon beauty campaign. I had embarrassingly ravenous hickeys, which in hindsight I am [grateful they didn’t] Photoshop away. With white skin, blonde hair and blue eyes it’s my humble attempt to diversify media!

Your dream collaboration? Wes Anderson, please find me. Current obsessions? Peanut butter, tights, barrettes, spirit animals, the Ne-Yo Pandora station, spontaneous groupon purchases and Moya Luckett, my brilliant feminism professor and life guru. Oh, and I’m trying to bring back flavored lip gloss.

Upcoming projects? A series of portraits called ‘Nudes’, which explores the contrast between nude as naked versus specifically beige and supposedly synonymous to “flesh colour”. It also addresses the way the sexualization of girls has become “art” by default. Being on set in various situations and type-casted for auditions is also a huge inspiration. I’ve always thought that an increase in transparency, in most industries, is beneficial. The allure of fashion is that there’s magic and surrealism in the unattainable, which is often created through Photoshop or even as I am learning through acting, spray painted abs and taped fat rolls. I don’t think these devices or practices should be outlawed, but I do think that people should know what they are really looking at when they flip through a magazine, hopefully I can achieve this through my work by combining my interests.

*

Interview by Danielle Suzanne, Image by Michael Beckert. Find more in Zeum issue 10. ❤

zeumwebb