Pamela Loredo Sustaita

 


VerucaWe first fell in love with the art and charm of Pamela Loredo Sustaita amidst composing our 8th issue. For the issue she created, as a great favor to us, an exclusive and absolutely stunning portrait of our muse for the “Suck it up Buttercup” theme: Veruca Salt. We have more planned with Pam in the very near future, and as her innate talent for infusing the personality and quirks of her subjects into her works becomes, remarkably, more and more apparent as time goes by, we are going to take every opportunity we can to moon over her work!

2
What would you say first sparked your interest in art, and your desire to pursue a career as an artist?

Drawing has been my favorite thing to do since I was like 2 or 3 years old. I remember drawing has really been apart of me since, essentially, as far back as I can remember. I have always known that it was the thing I wanted to dedicate my life to, because it has always made me happy.

3

Your artistic focus is illustration and collage work. What about these two mediums do you enjoy most?

I really enjoy that I can create characters and worlds beyond others’ imagination, since they come from me and are influenced intrinsically influenced by my life, experiences, and view of the world. Also I love how these two mediums let my creativity flow really well.

4

Describe your work in three words.

Colorful, dreamy, and fun!

5

Tell us about the materials you generally use in your illustrations!

I love using markers and ink but I really like experimenting with new materials that previously I had never imagined using. It is always really fun to try new things!

6

List five things that fascinate you.

Memories, feelings, colors, music and the beauty you can find in the simplest of things.

8

Your favorite film and/or book?

My favorite book is “El Principio Del Placer” by Jose Emilio Pacheco, and my favorite movie is “Neco z Alenky” directed by Jan Svankmajer.

Are there any particular artists [of any medium] that you admire that inspire you and your work?

Yes; Klimt, Monet, Jan Svankmajer, Napoleon Habeica, Sofia Coppola, Jean-Luc Godard, David Hamilton and Meadham Kirchhoff. They are all amazing artists that have, and continue to, inspire me.

11


 What song is [at this moment] stuck in your head?

“Why?” by She’s a Tease.

What does your work mean to you and what do you hope that it will mean to your fans?

My work is just about the most valuable thing I have. It is the way in which I express myself, and the window to my imagination.

I hope that my work tells stories and makes you feel something!