Interview with Laura Allard-Fleischl

Channeling an elegant and carefree charm Laura Allard-Fleischl captures incredible imagery that floats upon a sea of dreamy and chic. Amidst soft light and bright colours her work is tied together with the gentleness and strength of fluid poses from her models, as well as her unique aesthetic that allows her to stand out from the rest. We’re crushing on her work at Zeum as we feel Laura has the ability to translate any environment alongside her darling models into incredible fashion images. Laura is a delight and we’re oh so happy to feast our eyes upon these treats and that we had the chance to talk about her work and passions!

Hello Laura! Tell us a bit about yourself and your passion – we’d love to know about you!
I’m a freelance fashion photographer from New Zealand, living in London. I moved here less than a year ago with my boyfriend via an American road trip and have now settled in a little one bedroom flat in East London. I’ve been taking photos since I received my first camera at the age of 4, but have only been shooting professionally for the past 3 years, and only as my sole career since moving to the UK.1_o (2)What does life as a freelance fashion photographer entail?
It’s an incredibly competitive field, there’s a lot of talent in this game, seemingly concentrated in East London, so therefore it entails a lot of self doubt and constant career questioning. However it’s an incredibly varied job, and when you get to set a vision to work and see it come to fruition it’s incredibly rewarding. I’ll easily go 4-5 weeks without a day off (including weekends), so it can be very grueling, but the hope of it all paying off in the end, and the feeling you get at the completion of any particularly exciting job, makes it worthwhile.b_oDid you study photography?
No, I was afraid to be taught and therefore owe any success I potentially made to someone else.7_oHow important do you think it is for people to study?
I think it’s a personal thing, for me, it was incredibly important to study, I come from a very academic family and I’m not sure I would have learned the true importance of hard work, and sticking something out even if you didn’t enjoy it, had I not gone to university and completed my bachelor degree. It also helped me to confirm that I needed to go into a more creative career in order to feel fulfilled. But again, I think that’s something that’s different for everyone.1_oYour shoot for Nasty Gal at Salvation Mountain is one of our favourites! Could you tell us about this shoot?
Haha it was a very fun shoot. I knew Davia from when she was working in New Zealand so we picked up Cassandra and a box of Nasty Gal gear and drove out to Salvation Mountain in the Colarado Desert, stopping at gas stations along the way for water and snacks. When we reached Salvation Mountain it was about 100 degrees so the girls took it in turns between shooting, and resting in the air-conditioned car. I, however, remained outside for the 4 or 5 hours that it took to get all the shots. I’m absolutely useless with heat, so needless to stay, by the end of the day, they looked as gorgeous as ever and I had been reduced to a tomato red, heat stricken, shriveled mess. On the way back we were stopped at the patrol booth and questioned, technically you’re not allowed to shoot at locations like that without a permit. Thankfully the people that reported us had thought we were Australian so I let the Americans do the talking and we slipped through scotch free.2_oDo you shoot digital or analogue? What is your preference?
I shoot on both, with a lot of commissioned work, and test shoots, there are time and budget restrictions that mean shooting analogue isn’t possible, however I always jump at the chance to do so!1_o (1)You have an amazing talent for tests – you capture such gorgeous raw beauties in simple environments and turn it into something absolutely stunning! What is it you love about testing?
Haha thanks, I really just shoot tests to pay rent. There isn’t much money in photography, and although it’s great getting to know so many lovely personalities through shooting tests, and I do try to give my tests as much of an editorial feel as I can manage, there isn’t the time to put as much into, or have as much of a team involved in testing so it’s not quite as exciting as most other jobs.12_oHow often do you find yourself photographing every week?
It depends on the time, in a particularly slow patch I may only manage to fit in one job in a week, when it picks up however I’ll find myself working simultaneously on 7, 8  or more projects in one week. It really just depends.2_o (1)Are there ever times you find yourself running out of ideas or a lack of inspiration?
On and off, if I have 4 test shoots booked in over 2 days, and I’m only told about them the day before they need to be shot, it can be hard to come up with unique, interesting concepts for them all. However that’s what keeps me on my toes, there’s nothing like a challenge to keep one from getting complacent, and in this arena, you can’t afford to be lazy haha.ella5_oHow do you bring yourself out of this uninspired frame of mind?
I’m not really sure, I just see it like there isn’t the option to allow myself into that frame of mind in the first place haha.

What is a dream of yours that you’d like to come true?
I would love to develop my own personal style further and become recognized as a photographer. I hope more and more work starts coming my way and that eventually I’m able to make a comfortable living off it while having the excitement of shooting for the magazines and brands that I currently obsess over.10_905What direction would you like your future to head?
So long as I’m happy, fulfilled, and surrounded by amazing, inspiring people, I really don’t mindella4_o