That day we just explored the City by Oliver Bill

 Photographs often have a backstory, one that we at the viewer don’t always know about. We then create our own interpretation of the image, maybe we admire it because we find it aesthetically pleasing or it feels nostalgic in some way. In this case, I love these images because they really hit home. They are reminiscent of being in London last summer with my boyfriend at the time photographing me everywhere we went – documenting my time in a new and far away city. I thank Oliver for passing on these intimate, analogue photographs of his close friend Claudia to us, for two people I’ve not yet had the pleasure to meet to document a day together that strangely feels like one I once had.

Photographer | Oliver Bill
Model | Claudia Higgins @ M+P Models

THAT DAY WE JUST EXPLORED THE CITY - OLIVER BILL 1 THAT DAY WE JUST EXPLORED THE CITY - OLIVER BILL 5 THAT DAY WE JUST EXPLORED THE CITY - OLIVER BILL 7 THAT DAY WE JUST EXPLORED THE CITY - OLIVER BILL 8 THAT DAY WE JUST EXPLORED THE CITY - OLIVER BILL 10

“Claudia wore her own clothes and kept her hair and makeup natural, I find her much more beautiful this way. We just spent the day exploring and catching up.”

THAT DAY WE JUST EXPLORED THE CITY - OLIVER BILL 12 THAT DAY WE JUST EXPLORED THE CITY - OLIVER BILL 13 THAT DAY WE JUST EXPLORED THE CITY - OLIVER BILL 14 THAT DAY WE JUST EXPLORED THE CITY - OLIVER BILL 16 THAT DAY WE JUST EXPLORED THE CITY - OLIVER BILL 18