An interview with Jennifer Laflamme

Originally from Kobe, Japan, 21-year-old Toronto based photographer Jennifer Laflamme works with double exposure, image layering, and bold contrasting colour that is apparent in fauvist art. Currently studying fashion design, the young creative also makes time for creating truly inspiring and unique analogue images that we at Zeum love.

Hi Jennifer! Tell us a bit about yourself as a person and as an artist. As a person, I guess I’m still trying to figure that out. However, you can always catch me laughing/kooking out with friends, constantly asking myself a 1000 questions every day, caring for my plants, doodling in my sketchbook, and imagining all the places I would love to go to. Oh, and I also cannot forget my love for grapefruits! They are the fruit of my life. As an artist, I am very fascinated by different cultures and am most inspired by colours, texture and textiles. Right now I am experimenting with all of these combinations. I would describe the way I work very free flowing as I allow myself to make most decisions on the spot.
hairblur
Your more recent work makes use of bold contrasting colors, pattern, and is reminiscent of fauvist art. Can you tell us a bit about this current direction in your aesthetic, as well as your use of image layering and double exposure? I’ve recently been doing a lot of collaborated work with my friend Eloise Ptito, a textile artist who funnily enough is obsessed with fauvism. Having met in Montreal and then moving to Toronto together to study, we share a lot of the same vision and feed off of each other quite a bit. Together, it’s as though we are creating a textile piece, weaving into it our love for colors and patterns. As for my use of image layering, I am fond of creating depth and illusions of a place that exists only in my mind.
elo3
Why analogue? I simply cannot explain the excitement and joy I get when receiving my developed photos. I also find that the colours in film photography are most similar to what the human eye can actually see.
elo2
The song you have on repeat at the moment?
Amadou & Mariam feat. Santigold – Dougou Badia
Fiona1
Have you ever found yourself inspired by a particular musician, song, or lyric? Not particularly, but have been told that my photographs are pretty musical.
fiona2
This year you want to accomplish with your photography… Make photography a priority, experiment with different things and people, push myself further, and most of all–produce.
Elo1
Where can our readers find you and your work online?
cargocollective.com/jenniferlaflamme
jenniferlaflamme.tumblr.com