An Interview with Giulia Bersani

“Hi, I’m 21 years old and I’m from Milan, a big Italian city.” Photographer Giulia Bersani‘s images are captured in the midst of sunny days when soft light hits pale skin and warms bones. They evoke genuine feeling and naïvety; speaking to human connections and intimacy, all with an overly feminine colour palette that’s hard to look away from . Here we talk with the artist about her personal traits, an upcoming photography book she’s working on that is incredibly dear to her, and her favourite song at the moment.

00330009
Please tell us a bit about yourself both as a person and as an artist.
As a person I’m really shy and moody; sometimes I look quite asocial but I really care about my best friends (which are mostly males). I’m pretty odd and I complain about that but at the same time I don’t want to change. The thing I like most about myself is that I’m very naïve, emotional and imaginative. I love my childish part.
As an artist I’m really instinctive and opened to love whatever I find and to work on it.
My beautiful picture
We’re really interested in your series ‘lovers’. Is it an ongoing project or something that has remained finished?
It’s funny you ask me that question.. Just in this period I’m preparing a little book called “lovers” which will be the evolution of those random photos you can see on my website. It should be out in February and there will be a lot of new images; I worked on it during the last year. It is a really personal work; each copy of the book will be partially handwritten by me.
08570027
Photographs often evoke thoughts, feelings and memories when being viewed. Is there a specific message or mood you hope to translate through your work? No, I just show what I find curious and I love complicated situations, when you exactly don’t know what to think or feel. I like the idea everyone can see something different in my photos and even me, after weeks, I often change the way to see them; I notice new details, they tell me something new etc. I love not to have the complete control on the images I capture.
IMG_0037
The song you have on repeat at the moment?
Paper Planes – M.I.A.
outfit 3.1
Have you ever found yourself being photographically inspired by music or a particular song?
Yes, there was a period when Bjork inspired me a lot; her songs made me feel really sensitive and she looked like if every part of her body felt what surrounded her. I wanted my models to look like that.
My beautiful picture
Do you create art in any other mediums beside photography?
Not yet, but I really would love to! I’m in love with contemporary art..