Mehmet Agar

Fashion illustrator Mehmet Agar has floored us with his edgy and provocative portraits. We recognize many famous faces as muses in his works, such as the stunning model Cara Delevingne. Agar is always on the look out for photos that immediately catch his eye to act as a base for his own pieces, and the raw energy he manages to capture is nothing short of extraordinary!

Tell us a little bit about yourself Mehmet! Where are you from, how old are you, and how did you get started as a fashion illustrator?          

I was born in 1986 in Adana, Turkey. I first discovered my talent for drawing when I was 3 years old and drew Little Red Riding Hood’s cape. While in University I studied graphic design, though I was always greatly interested in fashion. Therefore, I soon went to work professionally designing textiles, and later I began to combine my love of drawing with my great affection for fashion.Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Please describe your work in three words.

Passionate. Mysterious. Emotive.Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Are there any particular songs, stories or films that you can list that you feel have had a significant impact upon you and the art that you produce?

I usually find myself through music. Though I am always trying to find new concepts through things that I listen to, watch, and read. And sometimes I have to look at, and reflect on, my past  in order to realize my true perception, which changes often. A few films that definitely inspire me include: Man on the Moon, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, The Dreamers, Back to the Future, August Rush , Cadillac Records , Donnie Darko , and Midnight in Paris.Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Five things that you can’t live without?

My papers , b&w photos , sunlight , real feeling, and some peace and quiet.Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

What is your favourite piece you’ve even completed? And why?

I don’t think I have a work which I can call it as my favorite yet because I always think that there might be a  room for improvement. I can almost never say “Ok, it is done completely”. I always want my works to be better.Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Please list some artists [of any artistic medium] that you admire.

David Downton , Kelly Smith , Ignasi Monreal.Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

What do your pieces mean to you, and what do you hope that it will mean to those who follow your work?

It is all about feelings and emotions. I would expect every person to find something unique in my works, something unique about themselves.Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Are there any projects that you are currently working on that you can tell us a bit about?

 Right now I am preparing a collection for a clothing store. It will mainly be for women’s t-shirts.Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with t1 preset