Lauren Geoghegan

Lauren Geoghegan is an up and coming London based accessory designer, creating eye-catching, yet wearable and versatile pieces. Her namesake collection includes beautifully crafted sculptural handbags and clutches, as well as womenswear accessories. Before starting her own collection, Lauren studied at the London College of Fashion, and worked with high street brands as an accessories designer.

We look forward to seeing what Lauren has created for her Spring/Summer 2014 line, launching at the end of September, but in the meantime, read on for our interview with the designer:

How did you become interested in the world of fashion?

I’ve wanted to work in fashion for as long as I can remember. I don’t really remember what it was that got me interested; it was just always an interest that was there. I knew I wanted to move to London and study here before I had even really decided what area of fashion I wanted to be in.

mary

You were originally more interested in womenswear design. What made your veer more towards handbag and accessory design?

Applying to uni was a really last minute thing for me and I kind of fell into it all, the accessories course at London College of Fashion was suggested to me and after doing a little more research I got really excited about potentially studying in that area instead of womenswear. I had never drawn a handbag before the day I went for my interview, I spent my train journey to London drawing my first bags. I think I went into the interview with a few rough sketches.

wanda

Did you have any inspirations and/or mentors during the creation of your line?

Whilst at uni I developed a love for working with thicker leathers in a very sculptural way and I did this a lot. I think my AW collection was also influenced by this more sculptural way of working. I love working with unusual shapes and forms with all my designs but this collection had a particular equestrian/rural influence. Feature natural curves, straps, binding and horsehair.

barb copy

How does your own personal style reflect in your line?

My personal preference towards fashion and style is that less is more. I like simplicity and minimalism in the way I dress and I think this directly influences the type of bags I create too. I often use very natural tones, which I love and am constantly drawn too, though colour is something I am trying to introduce more of as I get braver!

wanda copy

What were your inspirations for your Fall 2013 collection?

I took inspiration from lots of rural equestrian and farming pictures, looking at the ponies tack that carry stags after hunting, cart horses and ploughing harnesses. I grew up in a rural farming area so I think this kind of imagery is a constant source of inspiration for me.

Zoe_08

What’s up next for you and your company?

I’m currently working towards the launch of my Spring Summer 14 collection at the end of September which I’m really excited about. I feel like I have tried new things so I’m looking forward to showing it to people now. As for the future I hope to carry on doing what I’m doing and growing the company, selling with some great stores and maybe collaborating with other exciting designers.

Where can we find your handbags?

You can purchase Lauren Geoghegan accessories online at http://www.laurengeoghegan.co.uk, and also find a list of other stores on the stockist page of the site.

All images from http://www.laurengeoghegan.co.uk/