RUT SIGURDARDOTTIR

Icelandic photographer Rut Sigurdardottir [who tells us that she is living her adventure in Berlin, Germany; where she is currently situated] creates softly vibrant pieces comprised of beautiful spring day and cotton-candy colors. Her photos have a real grace, strength, and ethereal power and allure to them. And the delicate blending and fade-out of soft, smooth and bold colors in them has completely blown all of our minds, over here at Zeum. And we have no doubt that the feeling is mutual for all those made familiar with Rut’s stunning work.

Describe your work in three words.
Unique, supernatural, candy.

Can you tell us some artists [of any medium] that inspire you?
In the last couple of years I’ve become obsessed with the Icelandic painter, Kjarval. He is best known for his beautiful pictures of Icelandic moss and rocks, and the hidden people of Icelandic nature. I also really love the work of the dutch photographer Erwin Olaf and Ryan McGinley’s dreamy pictures are amazing.
But one of the artists that I look up to the most is my grandmother. She was a true artist. Her work and attitude inspires me every day.

What do you like to do in your spare time besides photography?
I love playing with my kids, three little geniuses that like to drive me mad.
I also love to re-organize things and to make balloon-animals.

Something you can’t live without?
I can’t live without my family
…and socks.

What are some of your favorite films?
“Rocky Horror Picture Show” is my all time favourite film.
I also loved loved loved “The Neverending Story” as a kid, although that one doesn’t age very well.
When I’m feeling blue I watch “Love Actually”… that one guarantees a good mood!

What do your photos mean to you?
My photos mean my reality, my fantasy, my dreams, my world, my love and my life.